The Wood County Planning Commission is organized under Chapter 713 of the Ohio Revised Code.

The Planning Commission membership consists of:
– the three Wood County Commissioners;
– the Wood County Engineer; and
– seven citizens chosen by the County Commissioners

Full time staff members of the Wood County Planning Commission consist of the Director and a Planner.

Planning Commission Staff

The Wood County Planning Commission meets the first Tuesday of every month at 5:30pm, unless otherwise noted.

The day-to-day job of the Planning Commission Staff is to administer policy concerning residential and commercial subdivisions, zoning regulations, and land use issues. The staff approves parcel splits and combinations, assigns rural addresses, and issues floodplain development permits.

The Planning Commission Staff is also responsible for administering the County’s Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program, the Community Housing Improvement Program (CHIP), and is also in charge of providing yearly reports to the State of Ohio for all Enterprise Zone (EZ) and Community Reinvestment Areas (CRA) within Wood County.

In addition to administering these programs, the Planning Commission is responsible for promoting adherence to the Wood County Comprehensive Land Use Plan, and assisting townships and villages in their local zoning programs.